Sunday, April 18, 2010

If you love Paris- you MUST read these books!

I've been fortunate enough to spend time in Paris on several different occasions. It's a city that's amazing and full of history and culture and romance- I'm hoping to get there with Daniel at some point in the future so that I can share it all with him.

Recently I read two books that made me want to book a plane ticket and pack a suitcase and head right back to Paris. The funny thing is that both books are based around food, and I 1) do not particularly like to cook and 2) don't really like French food! But I still wanted to immediately make a trip to Paris as soon as I read them!

Book #1: My Life in France, by Julia Child and Alex Prud'homme. If you liked the movie Julie and Julia, particularly the scenes with the amazing Meryl Streep as Julia Child, read this book. It's like an amazing extension of those scenes. Some things are very different, and things were often more challenging than portrayed in the movie, but Julia Child still comes across as such an amazing, grounded, madly-in-love-with-her-husband-and-France woman.  I loved, loved, loved this book.

Book #2: Lunch in Paris, by Elizabeth Bard.  I also fell unexpectedly, head-over-heels, in love with this book. It's an honest, down-to-earth, but still full of great stories and emotions, book about a woman who traveled to Paris and met the man of her dreams, then had to come to grips with what this meant for her life.

I've been fortunate enough to live overseas, and I know that, while being amazing and educational and fun, it can also be very lonely. Americans are not always, with good reason, admired in other countries, and overcoming that while trying to learn local customs and respect those things is often challenging. I though Elizabeth Bard did a wonderful job of balancing all these things at once, and she writes about it- with delicious-sounding recipes- in this book. And on top of the getting-to-know Paris story, this book is also a wonderful love story of Elizabeth and her husband. It's fun and funny and romantic and educational all at once. You definitely should read this book!

Disclosure: I received no compensation and no product for this review. I just wanted to write about two books that I have recently discovered and absolutely loved!